The research, creation, and maintenance of the database and interpretive framework that comprise JUEL is due to the expertise and effort of University of Virginia professors and students, researchers, and staff. The project is housed in the University's Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH), and draws on the skills of IATH staff and other members and institutions of the UVA community, such as the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library, the Students of the University of Virginia project by Jean L. Cooper, Genealogical Resources Specialist at the UVA Library, and the research and Historial Reports by Benjamin Ford of Rivanna Archaeological Services for the University. 

JUEL c/o The Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH)
3rd Floor, Alderman Library 
University of Virginia
P.O. Box 400115
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4115
434 924-4527 [phone]
434 982-2363 [fax]

[last update: November 2016]


Kirt von Daacke, Professor and Assistant Dean, (History & American Studies). Co-founder of JUEL.

Worthy Martin. Associate Professor of Computer Science and IATH Acting Director. Co-founder of JUEL.

Maurie McInnis, Co-founder of JUEL (2012-2016).

Louis P. Nelson, Professor of Architectural History and Associate Dean, School of Architecture.


Robbie Bingler. IATH Senior Software Developer.

Shayne Brandon. IATH Systems.

Emily Cone-Miller. JUEL Coordinator.

Cindy Girard. IATH XML and Related Technologies Specialist.

Lauren Massari. IATH Senior Modeler.

Julia F. Munro. Post-doctoral Researcher.


Moses Abraham

Elinor Ackerman

Ellen Adams

Nazar Aljassar

Connor Andrews

Madeline Bartel

Olivia Beatty

Alexandra Bergman (JUEL 3D modeling/visualization)

Gwendolyn Bingham

Monica Blair

Patrick Bond

Britt Brown

Samantha Bryant

Alice Burgess

Kui Cai (JUEL 3D modeling/visualization)

Hahna Cho

Frank Cirillo

Caroline Crossman

Catharine Cain

Catherine Creighton

Kelly Danner

Gwen Dilworth

Meghan Ellwood

Tessa Evans

Joan Fasulo

Rachel Gaffin

Christina Griggs

Noah Harlow

Trevor Hazelwood

Erin Hernon

Marvin Hicks

Ben Hitchcock

Emma Hitchcock

Lucy Hopkins

Camille Horton

Thomas Howard

Ian Iverson

Lauren Johnson

Katherine King

Katherine Landphair-Henneke

Stephanie Lawton

Angela Olive Lee

Sophia McCrimmon

Joshua Morrison

Nathanael Nelson (JUEL 3D modeling/visualization)

Brian Neumann

Rachel Newman

Arden Nguyen (JUEL 3D modeling/visualization)

Alison Peltz

Bryan Phan

Dominic Puzio

Evelyn Reece

Emily Richards

Mikaela Richardson 

Dylan Rogers

Philip Rubio

Tahiya Salam

Meredith Stanley

Sarah Thomson

Scott Tilton

Victoria Travers

Caroline Trezza

Millicent Usoro

Victoria Valdez

Story Viebranz

Tiffany Vinci-Cannava

Kerry Ward

Emily Weisenberger

Tom Winters

Tyrabia Womble

Jasmine Zollar